« Click to Next Article »

Michelle Wie Penalty Incites Argument

LPGA Classic Presented by J Golf - Round Three
Michelle Wie reacts to her bunker shot on the third hole during the third round of the Kia Classic Presented by J Golf at La Costa Resort and Spa on March 27, 2010 in Carlsbad, California. (Getty Images)more pics »Michelle Wie has shown she's fantastic on the golf course. But when it comes to the golf rule book, she may need a bit more practice.

Michelle Wie: rule breaker. (Getty Images)
Today during the Kia Classic at La Costa Resort and Spa, Wie found herself in a tough position, forced to shoot for par while perched alongside a water hazard.

With one foot in the water, Wie managed to to shoot what looked like an amazing par save. However, she touched her golf club to the green, violating violating Rule 13-4b. After recieving her two shot penalty, she double bogeyed the whole.

She argued for several minutes with the rules official, saying "I really think it's not right," before walking away. This isn't the first time she's had trouble with the rules. She was DQed during her pro debut in 2005 after taking an illegal drop, and in 2008, she was disqualified after not signing her scorecard.

Who's the most gifted golfer on the LPGA tour?
Who's the most gifted golfer on the LPGA tour?
Who's the most gifted golfer on the LPGA tour?
Of all the ladies on the LPGA tour, who's got the most raw talent in the sport of golf?
View Michelle Wie Pictures »
« PREV NEXT »
Leave a Comment!